Recreating memories from Sanfrancisco – crapes

Couple months back we visited Sanfrancisco and enjoyed various street foods available on Piers. One of my absolute favorite was crapes. I could not get enough of them.

I have been trying to find the ready to make crapes for a while and not able to get..finally decided to try on my own. To be frank I was nervous as I knew I cannot make it as thin as the experts do. My version turned out OK and I was able to cherish and reminded me of my memories from SFO trip.

Warm chocolate has been my weakness. So I created Nutella and chocolate chips crapes.

Ingredients-

1 cup all purpose flour
1 tbsp butter
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup water
2 eggs

Stuffing –
Nutella or chocolate chips
Banana/ Strawberry/ blueberry
Powdered sugar

In a bowl mix all the crape ingredients and until it blends into a smooth batter. Take a round skillet with little edge on the side. Pour a ladle full of batter when hot and flip around to allow the batter to flow to make it as thin as possible. It really cooks fast. Flip over after a min and let it for another 30 seconds and put it aside on a plate. Continue to make the rest of them in the same fashion.

When your crapes are all made, on the same plan take one crape at a time and drop chocolate chip on a semi circle and add chopped banana/ strawberries and fold over and fold over again to make it look like a triangle. Sprinkle powdered sugar and serve hot.

I made variations. I added Nutella as well instead of chocolate chips. I also made savory version with my tomato chutney. They were all yum and delicious!

I was glad I was able to recreate my favorite dish and reproduce memories from SFO. Give it a try!!!

20121125-113646.jpg

20121125-113655.jpg

20121125-113702.jpg

20121125-113710.jpg

20121125-113719.jpg

2 thoughts on “Recreating memories from Sanfrancisco – crapes

  1. Even though I am not allowed to take sweet food, chocolates I still can’t resist. Hahaha. Anything carrying chocolates I get tempted to have little bit. And let me confess, I have it too secretly. Chori chhupe. πŸ˜›

    Looks like street food across the world is always tasty and not just Indian subcontinent. πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

